Tsai Ming-liang Shorts

Tsai Ming-liang

Direccions Taiwan 89 min Spanish premiere Fiction


Tsai Ming-Liang is undoubtedly one of the most important filmmakers of the moment. His movies are an absolute gold standard thanks to his ability to observe the world transversally, and his mastery of the passage of time as he cleverly produces poetry out of frames and complete disquisitions based on silences. On the occasion of the premiere of his latest short film, The Night, the D’A is taking a look at the director’s most unknown facet, screening it along with three other short pieces from his filmography and which offer us a unique opportunity to fill in all the gaps. Session with English subtitles.


Asian CinemaShort Film


Tsai Ming-Liang

He is one of the greatest exponents of the “Second Wave” of Taiwanese cinema, with an extensive, radical and unforgettable filmography that contains such celebrated films as Goodbye, Dragon InnThe Wayward Cloud or I Don’t Want to Sleep Alone. With Vive l’amour he won the Golden Lion in Venice, with The River he won the Special Jury Prize in Berlin and with Stray Dogs, again in Venice, he won the Grand Jury Prize.

Filmography: Abiding Nowhere (2024, D'A 2024), Where Do You Stand, Tsai Ming-Liang? (short film, 2022), The Night (short film, 2021, D'A 2022), The Moon and the Tree (short film, 2021, D'A 2022), Rizi (Days) (2020, D'A 2021), Your Face (2018, D'A 2019), Afternoon (2015), Autumn Days (short film, 2015, D'A 2022), Journey to the West (2014), Stray Dogs (2013, D’A 2014), Visage (2009), I Don't Want to Sleep Alone (2006), The Wayward Cloud (2005), Goodbye, Dragon Inn (2003, D'A 2021), The Skywalk Is Gone (short film, 2002, D'A 2022), What Time Is It There? (2001), The Hole (1998), The River (1997), Vive l'amour (2004), Rebels of the Neon God (1992)

Tsai Ming-Liang

Film information

Director: Tsai Ming-liang
Script: Tsai Ming-liang
Country: Taiwan
Year: 2021
Format: DCP
Length: 89 min
Language: Taiwanes
Subtitles: English
Edition: 2022