La ciutat a la vora

Meritxell Colell Aparicio

Simfonies de ciutat Spain 52 min World Premiere Documentary


Take air, be able to breathe and live the city. The proposal aims to change the historical perspective of the mountains as points of control and defense, as borders of the city, to reveal the mountains as a point of connection with the origins. The trees, the urban gardens, the paths, the flowers, the roots. Filming in Super 8, inspired by Fischinger’s Munchen-Berlin Wanderung and by Akerman, Rose Lowder or Margaret Tait, we take a walk from Torre Baró to Montjuïc, tracing a portrait of the spaces and people that inhabit the city limits accompanied by some personal notes in the form of I remember George Pérec. The sounds of each neighborhood accompany the diary of this tour along with an improvised composition by the young saxophonist Laura Ulldemolins.

Presented by the director


Catalan CinemaCityFemale DirectorDocumentary


Meritxell Colell Aparicio

She is a director and editor, with a degree in Audiovisual Communication from UPF. After shooting several shorts, she made her feature debut with Con el viento, premiered at the Berlinale and later in Malaga —where she received the main award in the Zonazine section— and at more than forty festivals. Her second feature, Transoceánicas, co-directed with Lucía Vassallo, was awarded in Gijón, among others, and Dúo repeated the award in Málaga with the Biznaga de Plata for best direction from Zonazine.


Filmography: Dúo (2022, D'A 2022), La ciutat a la vora (short, 2022, D'A 2022), Transoceánicas (codirected, 2020, D'A 2021), Con el viento (2017, D'A 2018), Arquitectures en silenci (short, 2014), Recordant Buenos Aires (short, 2007), Manuscrit a la ciutat (short, 2006), Barcelona, París, Barcelona (short, 2004), La creación (short, 2002)

Meritxell Colell Aparicio

Film information

Director: Meritxell Colell Aparicio
Script: Meritxell Colell Aparicio
Contact: CCCB
Country: Spain
Year: 2022
Format: Digital
Length: 52 min
Language: Catalan, Spanish
Subtitles: Spanish
Edition: 2022