Ryūichi Sakamoto | Opus

Neo Sora

Especials Japan 103 min Spanish premiere


Japanese composer Ryūichi Sakamoto, author of such memorable soundtracks as The Last Emperor and Merry Christmas Mr. Lawrence, offers his last performance in this emotional concert filmed shortly before his death. With the only presence of him, his piano and without an audience, he reviews his career through twenty specially selected pieces, in an impressive film that evokes the passage of time.

Presented by the director


ArtBiographicAsian CinemaMusic


Neo Sora

He is a filmmaker, artist, and translator raised between New York and Tokyo. He took part of Berlinale Talents Tokyo and the Sundance Screenwriters and Directors Lab program. He wrote and directed The Chicken, a short film which was praised in publications such as Variety and Cahiers du Cinéma and was selected at Locarno and New York film festivals. Recently, Filmmaker Magazine named him one of the 25 New Faces of Independent Film. He is now in production for his debut fiction feature, Earthquake.


Ryūichi Sakamoto | Opus (2023, D'A 2024), Sugar Glass Bottle (short film, 2022), The Chicken (short film, 2020)

Neo Sora

Film information

Int. title: Ryūichi Sakamoto | Opus
Director: Neo Sora
Script: Neo Sora
Contact: Elastica Films
With: Ryūichi Sakamoto
Country: Japan
Year: 2023
Format: DCP
Length: 103 min
Language: Japanese
Subtitles: Spanish


Ryūichi Sakamoto | Opus