Lav Diaz

Philippines 234 min. min


In the late 70s, a military-controlled militia gang terrorizes a remote village in the Philippines. The terror inflicted on citizens is not just corporal, but intensely psychological as well. They are constantly fed apocryphal tales about the village leader. A few souls fight, refusing to give up. Poet, teacher and activist Hugo Haniway desperately searches for the truth about his wife’s disappearance.


Asian CinemaHistoryContrysideSocial Issues


Lav Diaz

(Philippines, 1958) Lav Diaz works as director, writer, producer, editor, cinematographer, poet, composer, production designer and actor all at once. He is especially notable for the length of his films, some of which run for up to eleven hours.

Filmography: Lakbayan (2018), Season of the Devil (2018) The Woman Who Left (2016, D’A 2017), A Lullaby to the Sorrowful Mystery (2016), From What Is Before (2014), Norte (2013, D’A 2014), Manila (2009), Independencia (2009), Next Attraction (2008), Now Showing (2008), Autohystoria (2007)

Lav Diaz

Film information

Original Title: Ang Panahon ng Halimaw
Director: Lav Diaz
Script: Lav Diaz
Contact: Films Boutique
With: Piolo Pascual, Shaina Magdayao, Pinky Amador, Bituin Escalante, Hazel Orencio
Country: Philippines
Year: 2018
Format: DCP
Length: 234 min. min
Language: Tagalog
Subtitles: English, Spanish, Catalan
Edition: 2019


Best Film in Cartagena